South Carolina Aquarium

South Carolina Aquarium

100 Aquarium Wharf
Charleston SC 29401
843-577-3474

Visit Us

Leave Your Review Here

Find Us

Online Profiles
  • Citysearch
  • Foursquare
  • Google Places
Reviews
  • Sep 28, 2020 by Cameron

    My family and I had an amazing time on our visit (09/27/2020). Even during the pandemic it was such a great trip. From the ease of purchasing our tickets and time online to the wonderful staff at the aquarium, it all made this trip a great time and experience. We will definitely be returning for future visits! Thanks from the Thompson Family to the wildlife conservationist and staff who help make that place what it is!

  • Sep 17, 2020 by Tamara Bartlett

    We love the aquarium, upset that Covid has shut down the children's play area and the interactive areas. Also have been a member for years, and we have to now reserve a time to come which always seems to be hours later, but if i paid as a guest they would have enough room to let me in at an earlier time.

  • Sep 04, 2020 by Karen Jurcik

    There was alot to see. Very cool experience feeding the rays. Kids had a blast!!! Expensive for sure, however, it is an AMAZING aquarium!!

  • Sep 04, 2020 by colin George

    Great place to visit especially for kids. Amazing location , exhibits , friendly and welcoming staff. Def recommend a visit if u r in Charleston. We took the all day long boat rides across the river ( separate fee and company runs it ) to visit other places from the aquarium.

  • Sep 04, 2020 by Brianna Boyd

    This has some of the best ocean views of any aquarium I’ve been to and an awesome staff member pointed out dolphins which was great to see. The touch tank is super cute, the facilities seemed to be clean and taking proper precautions with covid. While this isn’t a particularly large aquarium, the space is filled well with a good variety of creatures to see. More maps around the building would be wonderful though. Side note, I spent an hour reading the turtle patient stories on their site; I love the conservation efforts of this facility.

  • Sep 01, 2020 by Sebastian Arango

    Great way to spend a couple hours if you have kids or to take someone on a date. Don't expect the Atlanta Aquarium though, It was a small yet filled with educational information. My 2 year old had a blast looking at the turtles that are being rehabilitated and feeding the stingrays. Due to covid you do have to wear a mask, although they have places to take a "breather" and the cafeteria is closed so bring snacks for your little ones. Honestly it's great for kids because it's short enough they wont get restless.

  • Aug 30, 2020 by Sierra Humphries

    10/10 would recommend. Otters were fabulous and lively. Facilities were clean and staff was friendly.

  • Aug 29, 2020 by Paige H

    Pricey but was great for the kids ages 5 & 3!

  • Aug 25, 2020 by Mary Kohl

    A wonderful Charleston institution doing wonderful things for the lowcountry and our environment. The turtle hospital is so impressive and very successful. The behind the scenes view is awesome, especially for kids to soak in. Tons to learn here and be awed by.
    If your a tourist, this should be on the list as a great escape from heat, rain and crowds. If you're a local, get a membership. Visit to learn about the new things they're involved in like a turtle release. New parents, this is your peaceful morning outing for you and baby. Anyone interested in preserving our local environment, support SCA.

  • Aug 23, 2020 by Tisha Barron

    Very nice aquarium. My granddaughters were able to feed the rays. We all enjoyed it.

  • Aug 17, 2020 by Madison Proctor

    One of the nicest Aquariums I've been to. The layout is so clever and from an educational standpoint, they did it RIGHT. The informational signage is so well done. It's a shame a lot of interactive experiences needed to be closed due to covid. Seemed like a lot of awesome opportunities for younger visitors to get hands on learning. Also, I have never been to a sting ray touch tank where the Rays were like puppies. They wanted to be pet.

  • Aug 16, 2020 by Eric Heilman

    Great family outing! Definitely get out of it what you out it. We took our time and checked everything out well, you could easily blow thru it quickly and not enjoy your time.

    Kids loved the touch pools.

  • Aug 11, 2020 by tikesha manley

    Very nice place for the family. The water views are absolutely astounding. It's a very modest aquarium, 2 levels. The staff was very helpful and gave a wealth of information for the visitors.

  • Aug 10, 2020 by Ruben Alvarado

    Good aquarium for younger children. Not very big but lots of interactive things for toddlers. They are doing some great things for wildlife so I felt that even though it was a little pricey, it went to a great cause. Parking was easy across the street but probably due to the lack of tourists during Covid period. Thank you.

  • Jul 28, 2020 by Laura dramont

    Pretty cool experience. You don't always think of going to an aquarium when you think "exciting" or "must do fun", but this was worth it. I would highly recommend, especially if you want to get out of the heat and take in some incredible sea life.

  • Jul 26, 2020 by Rachel Hughes

    Great way to spend a couple hours in downtown Charleston. Friendly, helpful staff. Awesome touch tanks and very kid friendly! Be sure to check out the dive shows as well.

  • Jul 26, 2020 by J Brown

    Great visit! The aquarium was diverse and informative. But I was confused about the bald eagle exhibit on the second floor ...was even more confused by the sounds of other birds at this exhibit, the eagle seemed uneasy and jumpy...I was made even more confused when the eagle "flew", talons first, towards my 3 yo who was in my arms while we read the plaques. Never been that close to an eagle before and never will again. The enclosure was just vertical cables/lines so glad they held up.

  • Jul 25, 2020 by Michael Keller

    Clean, medium-sized, Charleston attraction that I've been coming to for many years. Depending on what package you get it can be pricey but the way you have to think about is that you are supporting the local marine life and environmental conservation work. There's a great hands-on section for all ages including horse crabs, starfish and the like. There's an outdoor stingray petting observation pool, a bald eagle, a large multi-leveled observation room with sea turtles, sharks, and large fish. All in all, a great place for family fun, or a date.

  • Jul 23, 2020 by John K

    This South Carolina aquarium had a nice amount of fishes, turtles, and rays. We are allowed to touch the rays. Also, the employees are super friendly and they clear speak the fish abilities. Here the entry fee is $29.95 per adult and for parking $1 hourly. There is a shop inside the aquarium where you can buy many stuffs like history books, kids story books, toys, key chain, clothes, some decorating glass pots that lit at night with the help of phosphorus content in it

  • Jul 20, 2020 by Aaron

    Great medium sized aquarium, and fun for a quick family trip without all of the crowds. Nice interactive exhibits as well. It is a little pricey for the size, but it goes to a good cause.

  • Jul 06, 2020 by Scott Lowry

    Great aquarium. The kids had fun! Recommend visiting at least once.

  • Jul 01, 2020 by Adam Lallande

    Takes about an hour to tour if you read everything. For the price I expected it to be a bit bigger with more exhibits. The deep water tank was quite Imptessive. Lucked up an hit the bald eagle enclosure at feeding time.

  • Jun 28, 2020 by Monika Nicole

    Thought they're would be more.. however it was an enjoyable experience. I touched a stingray

  • Jun 22, 2020 by Jeffrey Lahey

    Our family of 4 (kids age 8 and 7) really enjoyed the 2 hours we spent here. It is very well kept and there's a lot more than just sea creatures. Laura, from Nebraska, was an excellent guide and even took our kids on some "behind the scenes" experiences.

  • Jun 19, 2020 by Rom V

    Great views of the harbor. Aquarium is split between two levels and is quite spacious which helps with social distancing. All staff were wearing masks and were quite polite and helpful. There are spacious and clean restrooms on both floors and a giftshop on the 1st floor.
    There is also a balcony on the 2nd floor with benches to take a rest from wearing your mask. Be aware that all visitors must wear masks to visit the aquarium and social distancing signs are everywhere. There is an outside area on the 1st floor where one can touch the stingrays and see them in the large tank they occupy. I managed to take video of me touching the stingrays who actually come up to the surface to be touched. I also took good video of the stingrays underwater in the tank via the glass viewing area.
    There is also an enclosed (netting above and around the area) outdoor area on the second floor which has fish in a oval tank surrounded by marsh area which is occupied by two pelicans and four other birds. There is a second tank in the middle with small sharks. Inside on the second floor near the outdoor area is another tank where one can touch small sharks. The main attraction is a two story tank occupied by various fish species to include sharks and also large sea turtle(s).
    Overall this was a great experience. Kids of all ages will enjoy the aquarium which costs 30 dollars per adult. It was worth it! I highly recommend a visit to the South Carolina Aquarium at Charleston.

  • Jun 16, 2020 by Trish Godbold

    They did a great job implementing the new social distancing guidelines and had lots of hand sanitizing stations available!

  • Jun 05, 2020 by Brian

    Everything here is just so very nice. I loved it and I will definitely go again. A little small but in general you can't complain at all about anyting I really had a nice time. Very much worth the money

  • Mar 15, 2020 by Zoe Benfield

    This place is a beauty that must be experienced in person, so I tried to limit the pictures attached to my review. I saw some reviews complain that the aquarium is "small," but if you really enjoy looking at and learning about marine life, you could easily spend hours here. The experience was worth every cent of the ticket price. The aquarium is right on the ocean and you can tell the animals are well taken care of. Many are only in the care of the aquarium because they cannot be released into the wild. They have windows into the sea turtle recovery area so the people can look but it's set up to not be traumatic to the healing turtles or to get them used to people. You can also go through their records of every turtle rehabbed and released for the past several years (I think since 2007?). They have two impressive touch tanks-- one where you can touch rays and another where you can see and touch sea stars, tiny anemones, horseshoe crabs, and dogfish sharks who love to be pet. I would have paid the ticket price just to see their 33-year-old turtle Caretta in the flesh. She is so graceful and beautiful to look at, not to mention huge! Their three-story deep ocean tank is fun for the whole family. Even as an adult I found myself running up and down the stairs to see it all. The staff is very nice and interactive; it's obvious that they care that the guests have a good time and learn about ocean life during their visits. There are many opportunities in the gift shop to contribute to their sea turtle recovery unit!

  • Mar 09, 2020 by Jess Glass

    Really neat aquarium. I especially loved the turtle conservative area where we could follow along with the recovery efforts for rescued sea turtles. The hands-on area was also super cool. It's not a big place, and it's pricey, but it's a nice way to spend a few hours while in Charleston.

  • Feb 29, 2020 by Co Car

    Such a nice and beautiful aquarium! Really beautiful birds in the exhibit and a wide variety of fish. Turtle rehabilitation center is a must see, very cool and inspiring. So much to see without taking up your whole day. Friendly staff, very clean facilities. Nice gift shop!

  • Feb 27, 2020 by Krista Dezsi

    Very small aquarium but packed with some impressive aquatic life! The sea turtle rescue makes it worth while hands down. It only takes 1.5 to2 hours max if you do not watch the movies. I highly recommend going to one of the sea turtle talks with the lead vet, it was incredibly informative and my kids ages 15, 15 and 11 loved it. It was fun to see toddlers enjoying it in the crowd as well! Lots of giveaways and a great gift shop.

  • Feb 20, 2020 by Chris B

    What an awesome aquarium. Clean and fun. The staff is awesome!! My daughter loved feeding the sting rays. Very educational and fun selection of animals on display. They have a sea turtle rescue center ran out of it. So cool! A must stop when in charleston.

  • Jan 28, 2020 by Kristin Sindorf

    My kids absolutely love the aquarium! There are three touch tanks and several hands-on exhibits. The sea turtle hospital is really neat and interactive. There is a trading post where kids can bring stuff in and trade them for sea shells, sharks teeth, and other items. There are several different educational talks and demonstrations throughout the day as well. All of the staff and volunteers are very friendly and knowledgable.

  • Jan 18, 2020 by Mitch Dunn

    Absolutely love coming to the South Carolina Aquarium! There's always something for the when family. The kids are never bored or complain... In fact some visits could last multiple days if it were up to the kids. The facilities are always well maintained & the staff is super friendly. I definitely recommend visiting if you haven't. In addition to the aquarium... The views from the observation deck are breathtaking & there's so much to see in the vicinity. Absolutely chill & laid back for a perfect weekend!