South Carolina Aquarium

South Carolina Aquarium

100 Aquarium Wharf
Charleston SC 29401
843-577-3474

Visit Us

Leave Your Review Here

Find Us

Online Profiles
  • Citysearch
  • Foursquare
  • Google Places
Reviews
  • Jun 28, 2020 by Monika Nicole

    Thought they're would be more.. however it was an enjoyable experience. I touched a stingray

  • Jun 22, 2020 by Jeffrey Lahey

    Our family of 4 (kids age 8 and 7) really enjoyed the 2 hours we spent here. It is very well kept and there's a lot more than just sea creatures. Laura, from Nebraska, was an excellent guide and even took our kids on some "behind the scenes" experiences.

  • Jun 16, 2020 by Trish Godbold

    They did a great job implementing the new social distancing guidelines and had lots of hand sanitizing stations available!

  • Jun 05, 2020 by Brian

    Everything here is just so very nice. I loved it and I will definitely go again. A little small but in general you can't complain at all about anyting I really had a nice time. Very much worth the money

  • Mar 15, 2020 by Zoe Benfield

    This place is a beauty that must be experienced in person, so I tried to limit the pictures attached to my review. I saw some reviews complain that the aquarium is "small," but if you really enjoy looking at and learning about marine life, you could easily spend hours here. The experience was worth every cent of the ticket price. The aquarium is right on the ocean and you can tell the animals are well taken care of. Many are only in the care of the aquarium because they cannot be released into the wild. They have windows into the sea turtle recovery area so the people can look but it's set up to not be traumatic to the healing turtles or to get them used to people. You can also go through their records of every turtle rehabbed and released for the past several years (I think since 2007?). They have two impressive touch tanks-- one where you can touch rays and another where you can see and touch sea stars, tiny anemones, horseshoe crabs, and dogfish sharks who love to be pet. I would have paid the ticket price just to see their 33-year-old turtle Caretta in the flesh. She is so graceful and beautiful to look at, not to mention huge! Their three-story deep ocean tank is fun for the whole family. Even as an adult I found myself running up and down the stairs to see it all. The staff is very nice and interactive; it's obvious that they care that the guests have a good time and learn about ocean life during their visits. There are many opportunities in the gift shop to contribute to their sea turtle recovery unit!

  • Mar 09, 2020 by Jess Glass

    Really neat aquarium. I especially loved the turtle conservative area where we could follow along with the recovery efforts for rescued sea turtles. The hands-on area was also super cool. It's not a big place, and it's pricey, but it's a nice way to spend a few hours while in Charleston.

  • Feb 29, 2020 by Co Car

    Such a nice and beautiful aquarium! Really beautiful birds in the exhibit and a wide variety of fish. Turtle rehabilitation center is a must see, very cool and inspiring. So much to see without taking up your whole day. Friendly staff, very clean facilities. Nice gift shop!

  • Feb 27, 2020 by Krista Dezsi

    Very small aquarium but packed with some impressive aquatic life! The sea turtle rescue makes it worth while hands down. It only takes 1.5 to2 hours max if you do not watch the movies. I highly recommend going to one of the sea turtle talks with the lead vet, it was incredibly informative and my kids ages 15, 15 and 11 loved it. It was fun to see toddlers enjoying it in the crowd as well! Lots of giveaways and a great gift shop.

  • Feb 20, 2020 by Chris B

    What an awesome aquarium. Clean and fun. The staff is awesome!! My daughter loved feeding the sting rays. Very educational and fun selection of animals on display. They have a sea turtle rescue center ran out of it. So cool! A must stop when in charleston.

  • Jan 28, 2020 by Kristin Sindorf

    My kids absolutely love the aquarium! There are three touch tanks and several hands-on exhibits. The sea turtle hospital is really neat and interactive. There is a trading post where kids can bring stuff in and trade them for sea shells, sharks teeth, and other items. There are several different educational talks and demonstrations throughout the day as well. All of the staff and volunteers are very friendly and knowledgable.

  • Jan 18, 2020 by Mitch Dunn

    Absolutely love coming to the South Carolina Aquarium! There's always something for the when family. The kids are never bored or complain... In fact some visits could last multiple days if it were up to the kids. The facilities are always well maintained & the staff is super friendly. I definitely recommend visiting if you haven't. In addition to the aquarium... The views from the observation deck are breathtaking & there's so much to see in the vicinity. Absolutely chill & laid back for a perfect weekend!