Ripley's Aquarium of Myrtle Beach

Ripley's Aquarium of Myrtle Beach

1110 Celebrity Circle
Myrtle Beach SC 29577
843-916-0888

Visit Us

Leave Your Review Here

Find Us

Online Profiles
  • Citysearch
  • Foursquare
  • Google Places
Reviews
  • Nov 18, 2020 by Daniel Filiatreau

    Used to go plenty of times before the pandemic. It’s a very expansive and intriguing aquarium! The shark tunnel is quite amazing, but the lines are very long and packed. There are a lot of other exhibits, too- there was one with stingrays you could pet, which was cool. The aquarium is very colorful, and perfect for kids. You can also pet Horseshoe crabs. Overall, this aquarium is a nice attraction on the Grand Strand, although it is often jam-packed with visitors.

  • Oct 14, 2020 by Josh Boucher

    Decent visit. Kids loved the fish. Neat items in the gift shops. They closed both restrooms at the same time I explained this to the lady at the front desk 4 times before she realized that both restrooms were closed. Not fun trying to find a restroom for 20 minutes with a 5 year old needing to go!

  • Oct 01, 2020 by Kalie Barnett Kidd

    The price is a bit high. They are taking great measures to protect guests from COVID. The animals are all beautiful, although I was expecting more variety. The gift shop is very affordable and the landscaping is well done!

  • Sep 29, 2020 by James Barr

    Fantastic aquarium that is truly focused on public access and education. Even in times when it can be tough to accommodate the public they have made a great commitment to safety while still providing a great experience. I have visited this place many times through the years and is always worth the trip.

  • Sep 28, 2020 by Theresa Skillman

    Best Aquarium we have been to for shark display/ walk through. Price is a little high but you can find coupons/ discounted tickets. Our whole family had a blast we would visit again and recommend you any who is in myrtle beach for a family vacation

  • Sep 26, 2020 by Jeannine Bytwerk

    Definitely worth a stop!! We did not attend and additional options. The $35 to walk the space was just right for us.
    The penguins were super cute. The shark tunnel was awesome. We could have hung out there for a good hour or more just staring at all the fish swimming. I'm sad I couldn't find Gabby the turtle, but it was fun looking.
    We petted some stingrays and could have a small shark but passed on that option.
    At least a good 2 hours of entertainment. Covid-19: Masks were required. Lots of hand sanitizer around. Good social distancing. All employees in masks.

  • Sep 22, 2020 by Brandon Renner

    Great time even though cpl of the attractions was closed due to covid. The wife and I had a wonderful time together!

  • Sep 18, 2020 by April Osterman

    It's a nice place. Not as big as I would of hoped. Sad that most of the interactive has to be off limits right now.

  • Sep 15, 2020 by The C’s

    We enjoy sea life and aquariums. We tried this for the tunnel of water exhibit which was amazing. The view is something that you don’t get at other places. We took out time and enjoyed the sharks. The groups with kids, moved through quickly which might have been a loss for the adults to really take in the views.

    They did have a few exhibits closed which was disappointing but understandable due to COVID.

    The only catch was that they up charged to add another attraction which we found out was not on the premises. We probably would not have bought the package if we knew we had to go to another location, such as the Ripley’s Believe It or Not. It did end up good as we did enjoy Ripley’s Believe It or Not.

  • Sep 14, 2020 by Matthew Truett

    Obviously a staple of Myrtle Beach and frequently visited. We all know covid sucks and guidelines must be followed. We would have purchased a family photo at the entrance, but would have been required to wear masks. Not even for a quick photo could we remove our masks. The flow of the aquarium was also pretty strict, but again understandable due to covid. Businesses are adjusting per guidelines of state and local restrictions. Outside that, the exhibits were great and even the quality of architectural design was impressive! I frequent the aquarium in Cleveland Ohio, and was very impressed with health of fish and sharks in every exhibit vs the apparent health of sharks in Ohio with lesions and scarring on most sharks. Our kids had a great time and it was one of their favorite experiences in Myrtle. My only reason for giving 4 and not 5 stars was the price. It was nearly double the price as our hometown aquarium. Just because its Myrtle doesn't mean it should cost double. With the number of daily visitors, prices should be fair and considerate. 2 adults, a 4 year old and a 1 year old was still $90. There was also ample bus parking as my son always has his bus in hand!

  • Sep 13, 2020 by Лилия Присветлая

    I really like this place, we were here two years ago, I came here a second time with great pleasure. Appeared in the aquarium,Penguins, very funny and interesting birds . I highly recommend visiting this place. Entrance costs 35 USD + taxes

  • Sep 12, 2020 by Thomas West

    Always love this place!! With the whole covid-19 thing you can't go into any of the access points but still worth the time to see!!

  • Sep 06, 2020 by Amy Petruskevich

    A bit expensive considering quite a few things were closed. The shark tunnel was great but the motorized sidewalk wasn't working and the lights were off on one side. Penguin exhibit was smaller than expected but the were super cute. Glad they were able to have the stingray touching tank and my granddaughter lived the mermaid. A lot of different jellyfish. The gift shop had a huge selection of items. Masks required and a lot of sanitizer stations. Good time.

  • Sep 02, 2020 by Joseph Kelly

    Lots of fun for the kids. They are fascinated by the sharks and rays. They loved all of the fish, but especially those and the jellyfish. They also really loved the mermaid. They went back to see her 3 times. The staff is very friendly and helpful. I was surprised that the horseshoe crab petting pool is empty. I was told they deemed it insufficient. The moving sidewalk wasn't working either. They have plenty of Covid-19 sanitation stations set up and you HAVE to wear a mask the whole time if you are 6 or older. Dropped a lot of money for tickets, and inside for pictures, snacks, drinks and gift shop (around $300+ for a family of 5). I have stage 4 cancer though and survival odds are very slim so it's worth it to make memories for my kids for after I'm gone.

  • Aug 31, 2020 by Brandee Porter

    We go here every year when we go on vacation. We always get a picture to show how much our daughter has grown. It's one of our most favorite places to visit. The penguins were a awesome surprise this year! They are the coolest things I've seen in a long time!

  • Aug 30, 2020 by Markis Johnson

    Always loved this place

    A bit pricey...but it's a great experience to have

  • Aug 27, 2020 by Samantha Burket

    It's a nice aquarium with lots to do and see. It's less than 40 dollars a person and the staff are very friendly and helpful. The gift shop is reasonably priced and it has a wonderful air conditioning system!

  • Aug 26, 2020 by Jenna Ferguson

    Lots of beautiful exhibits and I was so glad to see that things like the sting ray touch tank we're open even with everything. Lots of cool things to see!

  • Aug 23, 2020 by Kelley Widdows

    We were pleased with our visit. The Penguins were super cute and fun to watch. I loved seeing the different types of fish that you don’t find at regular aquariums. The shark exhibit was amazing. You could really see the teeth up close. And when it was time to check out I have to give a huge shout out to Alec and Jeremiah in the gift shops. Alec was so patient in helping my youngest daughter pick out a souvenir. And Jeremiah was extra patient when all of my children checked out individually as they were spending their own money.

  • Aug 22, 2020 by Tracy Stewart

    Very nice aquarium so much bigger than VA Beach. Very clean and COVID friendly. Very safe! Love the fish life and I think this was the longest tunnel in an aquarium that we've seen this far!

  • Aug 13, 2020 by Allison Evans

    Such a great aquarium, they had so many interesting species. The exhibits were beautiful and well done! We spent a about 1.5 there, we got there early on a Wednesday and we almost had the place to ourselves. I am disappointed that they had the jellyfish touch closed, it was the whole reason we went. But still a fun day

  • Aug 10, 2020 by Alexis Riester

    With several attractions closed, like the petting pool (except the ray area), I don't feel like $37 per adult is worth walking through the aquarium with nothing else to do.

    The shark tunnel is amazing . The jellyfish area is sparse but pretty with the neon lights changing their colors. Gift shop was nice. The penguins were kind of cute.

    It was okay. Great for those under 12. Any aquatic enthusiast adults will likely find lackluster.

    Taking price and lack of interest into consideration, 3/5. Would go once, but not repeatedly. Resist once every 10 or so years.

  • Jul 30, 2020 by Elizabeth Parker

    Had a wonderful time today. My son has autism and it was definitely a very sensory friendly environment. The staff was all very nice. It was very clean and I saw many employees around keeping it that way. Restrooms were very clean too. The gift shop was also very reasonably priced considering it is a large attraction and usually prices are very high, even for small toys. We did not get any food so I can't say how the prices are there but my guess would be average for an aquarium. Overall, a wonderful experience and I wish that our local aquarium was this nice!! Thanks for a memorable trip!

  • Jul 30, 2020 by Yvette Marshall

    My favorite place to go when I'm visiting Myrtle Beach. Good night life, a variety of unique shops and restaurants, multiple boardwalks, and limited attractions.

    However, the shops and restaurants are not cheap. They will cost you a good amount of money for food and items. I can tell you that the Auntie Anne's large fountain drink cost $4... However, the reason this review doesn't loose a star is because you dont need to buy anything in order to have a good time.

    Broadway at the Beach is not only great, it's even better at night. Lights shine everywhere and can really look amazing.

    The variety of stores can keep you entertained for hours upon hours, even if you don't buy anything! Some of the stores are entirely dedicated to hot sauce, gags, beef jerky, pearls, and much more.

    The boardwalks are amazing too. For only 25 cents you can feed a whole bunch of fish, ducks, and maybe even a turtle (if you're lucky!).

    Restaurants are around every corner and can sell a variety of foods ranging from Mexican, American, and unique restaurants that sell pure burgers and etc.

    Overall, Broadway at the Beach is an amazing place for amazing memories, with or without money.

  • Jul 26, 2020 by Stacy Rickel

    Great place to take kids while here on vacation. Clean. Supervised. Hand sanitizer everywhere..

  • Jul 24, 2020 by Stephen Easton

    Nice family experience...has handicap available spots and offered plenty of things to do with general admission and more for more money.... decent price and kid friendly.... couldn't experience to full degree because of COVID closing vegetation certain certain things like jellyfish touching etc. Didn't buy food or drink.... but small baby shark toy in gift shop was slightly less than $10.....typical tourist attraction pricing for souvenirs

  • Jul 23, 2020 by Kelly Pellice

    My family loved this aquarium. There was a problem with my credit card at the kiosk which I didn't notice until we went inside. I had to go back out and the gentleman out front was very friendly and helpful. Wonderful customer service. The shark exhibit is amazing, they have social distancing reminders and hand sanitizer everywhere. It was a great experience. We would definitely go again.

  • Jul 23, 2020 by Liesel Babb

    Very cool place to visit. Quite an array of marine life to see and enjoy. The displays are very beautiful. Both the kids and adults, enjoyed the visit.

  • Jul 12, 2020 by Ashley Tyrrell

    The walk through shark exhibit was amazing! We had a great time, they did require masks and the touch tank was closed due to Covid but was still a fun time!

  • Jul 11, 2020 by Jonathan's Gaming

    I loved this place. There were so many different beautiful aquatic animals to see. It was so cool to see all these beautiful fish, including the huge sharks and sawfish! They even had some really cute African penguins! I highly recommend coming here!

  • Jul 07, 2020 by Courtney Lang

    I absolutely love the aquarium. Growing up this was my favorite place to come for spring break. After moving here, I was pleasantly surprised to see all the updates they have done! I enjoy it even more now as an adult.

  • Jun 25, 2020 by Dave Koerth

    Always a fun place to visit. During covid they are open but masks are required (can be purchased for $0.95 per mask. I would recommend going early in the morning since the line goes around the building by noon. Don't forget your military/veteran discount or AAA discount.

  • Jun 24, 2020 by Sarah Freeman

    Nice experience a little costly took about 35-45 min to go through the aquarium. Masks required and it's pretty hard to maintain social distancing but just be careful and have fun. I recommend going on a weekday on an afternoon. We went on a Wednesday mid afternoon and it wasn't too bad.

  • Jun 20, 2020 by Carey Richardson

    A pretty cool aquarium. We had fun but it was super busy! I recommend paying very close attention to the best times to attend. Otherwise it is basically shoulder to shoulder people during a global pandemic, a bit scary.

  • Jun 18, 2020 by Savannah Taylor

    As always Ripley's Aquarium does not disappoint! We had such a fun time!
    The only issue was the lack of social distancing and mask wearing. All the employees were wearing masks and touch tanks were closed but it would have been nice if the employees would enforce social distancing and or further limit capacity. It was very crowded and quite unnerving, but I was happy to see this attraction open during this time.

  • Jun 14, 2020 by Rachel Greene

    This place is incredible! Definitely worth the price of admission. I loved every little thing about this place. The exhibits were awesome and detailed, the staff was friendly and helpful. I absolutely love this place and will be making the trip back to go again. When you purchase the tickets they are good for a year so if you dont have time you can go back and visit again. Everything is so affordable and I have never been so satisfied with an aquarium in my life! 10/10

  • Jun 11, 2020 by Brittany Davis

    Visited on Memorial Day weekend, during Covid pandemic, and although the hands-on experiences were Temporarily Shut Down, we still enjoyed it. First time for myself and kids, and it was truly a one of a kind experience. The staff were kind, and they had a well prepped plan to maintain social distancing and disinfecting every single inch of touched surfaces. It was awesome!!

  • Jun 09, 2020 by Kristi Richardson

    My family and I have visited the aquarium several times and can't wait to see the new penguin exhibit. Plenty to see and do with the kids. And I love the picture options. Allows you to enjoy time with your family and capture the memories without having to be a photographer during your visit

  • Jun 05, 2020 by Thomas Mitchell

    Very affordable and wonderful experience for whole family young and old. Look for coupons in local deal books. Even without coupons family of 10 was only about 230.

  • Jun 02, 2020 by Jeremiah Howley

    The place was nice and had some cool tanks. That being said I was disappointed that everything was closed at the aquarium i paid full price for half of the experience. I understand the covid 19 affected the aquarium but they should realize that too and give a discount for the people who paid good money to go there.

  • May 30, 2020 by Amber Wood

    Awesome my 20 month old loved it kids 3 and under are free so I definitely recommend! Shark tunnel and penguins were awesome

  • Mar 17, 2020 by Robby Beamer

    Took the family there, cool day at the beach. Loved learning about all the different fish and water animals. We rushed to make it to the mermaid show, I did not think it would be much to see but I was really impressed at the two mermaids and the show the put on.. Nice facility and supper helpful staff but bring your credit card it is a little pricey but worth it.

  • Mar 09, 2020 by C Harris

    This was my first time here. Me, my wife and my 3 year old daughter greatly enjoyed ourselves. The entire staff was so friendly. The exhibits were very informative, beautiful and well displayed. Loved all the aquatic animals. Most definitely will visit again with family. The whole experience will always be in our memories. We bought the photo package because those are memories you want to always have!!

  • Mar 04, 2020 by Crystal C

    We absolutely love it! Great place. Beautiful place. Find coupons if you can because it can be pricey for larger families or anyone really. My son was only 3 when he first visited and he can still remember great details about our adventure here so it's got to be great. Watch the mermaid shows if you can and listen and learn about it all very interesting, the kids and adults fell in love with it.

  • Feb 25, 2020 by Jasa Wolfrey

    This place is engaging, educational, & fun. Staff is super friendly. Annual passes are so worth it! We love how they will decorate for holidays & special events. Always something new for my kids to see!

  • Feb 25, 2020 by Anessah Barker

    The glass boat tour was phenomenal. The young woman Alix offered us an engaging and educational presentation about the various sea creatures in the tank. The museum also seems to be offering more opportunities for people to interact with various animals. Although at times, it seems a bit overpriced, there are priceless moments to be had at the aquarium. I recommend everyone see the mermaid show. I have three boys(7,5,2) and, although it isn't typically the demographic being targeted, they LOVED it! I was very impressed too! Downright magical!

  • Feb 25, 2020 by Anessah Barker

    The glass boat tour was phenomenal. The young woman Alix offered us an engaging and educational presentation about the various sea creatures in the tank. The museum also seems to be offering more opportunities for people to interact with various animals. Although at times, it seems a bit overpriced, there are priceless moments to be had at the aquarium. I recommend everyone see the mermaid show. I have three boys(7,5,2) and, although it isn't typically the demographic being targeted, they LOVED it! I was very impressed too! Downright magical!

  • Feb 21, 2020 by Adriana Snelling

    I always love Ripley's, great fun, especially when its freezing outside and you want to get family out of the house. I absolutely loved seeing the penguins!! Best addition they could have thought of. My daughter loved it all! One of my favorite things to do with her!

  • Jan 17, 2020 by Asheville Girl

    Loved this place. Took our daughter and 18 month old grandson. The diver was awesome. She played with the baby from the water. Made hearts for him. Blew him kisses. Made hearts with the water. Feed the fish so he had a big bunch right in front of him to look at. Touched her hand to his. Mermaids were very neat to watch. A trip worth taking for people of all ages. My daughter has always lived sea turtles they have a huge one. That and her baby's reactions made her day and ours.

  • Jan 10, 2020 by Aaron Schantz

    This is one of the better attractions in Myrtle for families. All ages can enjoy. It has a few hands on exhibits for all to partake. You can touch a jelly fish or a sting ray. The walk through part has cool sharks too. Of course you'll get funneled out through the gift shop so bring your pocket book! There are deals offered for this place all over. They can also be found in combo packages. They do offer a military discount as well.

  • Dec 21, 2019 by Amy Porche

    Great experience! The diver and the lady giving the info at the mermaid show in the sting ray area were amazing. They were very interactive with the kids and very informative. They went above and beyond to make my son feel special! Love that you brought back a second addition (shrimp)to the touch tank since you took the sharks out. Tons of sharks to be seen. We even saw a turtle. Can't wait to go back to see the penguins soon.