Greenville Zoo

Greenville Zoo

150 Cleveland Park Drive
Greenville SC 29601
864-467-4300

Visit Us

Leave Your Review Here

Find Us

Online Profiles
  • Foursquare
  • Google Places
  • Yellow Pages
Reviews
  • Sep 08, 2021 by Jessie Bashor

    This zoo is probably the smallest I've been to. The bathrooms were clean and well stocked. There isn't a whole lot of exhibits. Mostly birds, a few big cats, some monkeys, and giraffes with a few reptiles sprinkled in here and there. I was pushing a wheelchair and taking our time and still only took an hour to see everything. Wheelchairs are available at $8 for a push and $20 for electric. Double strollers I believe (not 100% sure) are about $12. It was only $32 for 2 adults and a push wheelchair so it wasn't too bad of a price at all. The big cats have awesome glass close up encounters which is probably the best part of the whole zoo. Huge playground on site as well. Great for kids but a little disappointing for adults if you want a lot to see.

  • Aug 31, 2021 by Melissa

    Cute little zoo. It's a little over a mile to walk, exhibits are spaced out comfortably. Lots of "pit stops" for kids to play and interact along the way.
    Animals were very active and out in the viewing areas when we were there.
    The only exhibit that made me sad was the lions. Their habitat seemed small and they didn't have any toys or anything to interact with. They just laid on the rock (others I've been to had large balls at least for them to roll along the ground). They also seemed skinny, but I don't know their back story (age, health, prior life), so I'm not making any accusations because all of the other animals seemed well cared for and happy.
    Admission was $12 for adults which I thought was reasonable. Seeing the baby giraffe and then the baby orangutan roll in the pile of straw was worth the price of admission.It was definitely a great morning out.

  • Aug 17, 2021 by Brandi Wroten

    Visited Greenville Zoo today and really enjoyed our visit! My kids enjoyed everything... The animals, gift shop, and concessions. For a smaller zoo we made a whole day out of it. They also played on the playgrounds both inside and outside of the zoo. My daughter fell and skinned both of her knees and the sweet lady in concessions gave me everything I needed to get her cleaned up and feeling better so a huge thanks to her!!! Can't wait to visit again soon!

  • Jul 17, 2021 by David Nichols

    Not bad, could have been better but not bad. It's not a big zoo, they have a decent amount of enclosures but still small. The workers didn't really seam like they cared about the place, and really was kinda dull. I took my wife and three boys and they enjoyed the time we had but nothing too crazy. It's okay if your close by but we drove an hour and a half, to be honest we will not be doing it again.

  • Jul 16, 2021 by Chloe' Costilla

    We enjoyed our experience as a family to the zoo. Like others have said, the price matches the size of the zoo. it was affordable and quaint. Really enjoyed the fact that they have large cats at this zoo, especially the sleepyhead lions. The highlight for me was the giraffe exhibit. It was really amazing to watch them all come out to meet the morning.

  • Jul 14, 2021 by Martha Warlick

    Amazing!! We all went. 2 adults and 5 kids..even my youngest enjoyed herself.

  • Jul 07, 2021 by Andrea Cronson

    Temp was 91゚ but because of the tree canopy over the walk ways we weren't hot! Well compact layout with exhibits close enough together so really walkable in 1.5 hours. The best part is the zoo is located on the swamp rabbit bike trail so it makes for a perfect activity to chose together!

  • Jun 30, 2021 by Natalie A. Williams

    Went to the zoo a few weeks back and had a very enjoyable morning - I have heard such negative things about the zoo but it was nice for my family & my youngest daughter's friend family to have a nice outing... The zoo is not the largest but it is nice to give back to our local community - The animals were fantastic to see and I loved what I saw... See for yourself before you past judgment.

  • Jun 28, 2021 by Kristen Dewey

    Lovely little zoo! Good view of all of the animals, nice selection of species. About 1 mile of walking to get through the whole thing which is very manageable. Enclosures and common areas well kept. We would definitely come back.

  • Jun 23, 2021 by Barb

    Small. Very nicely landscaped. Small. Attractive exhibits. Informed, helpful docents. Small. I guess i didn't do adequate research. This is by far the smallest zoo I have ever paid admission to see. The adjacent playground and Swamp Rabbit trail adds to the value, but those are free.

  • Jun 16, 2021 by AJ Schwartz

    It was a great trip for my toddler's. The zoo isn't very big guy they have some really good animals for younger children. I would say 8 would be the last point of interest age. But it was affordable and my girl's loved it. Especially all the Giraffes.

  • May 27, 2021 by Ryan Tennant

    You will need to register/reserve tickets before you go. I did not know that, but the kind lady at the window let us in. We enjoyed the zoo though. They have a trail that you follow to see everything, & you can make it through in about 30 minutes. They have signs and little facts about all of the animals which is fun to read. The playground right outside of the Zoo is a huge plus! Because after you walk through, then you can let your kids play for however long they want. It's a really cool playground.

  • May 25, 2021 by William Livengood

    The price of the Zoo is fairly cost-effective if you want a day to have fun. The Zoo currently in the stage of expanding and remodeling some exhibits. So some animals are not out due to construction. Still was such an easy walk though that lead you to exery exhibit. The concessions stand prices are amazing for families to stop and grab food and a beverage.

    You're able to purchase Admission Tickets online or at the counter.

  • May 24, 2021 by Rebecca Haberman

    We just visited the zoo with our daughter and granddaughter and had a lovely morning. This zoo is easily seen in a morning or afternoon. The morning was less crowded for sure. You were able to see nearly all of the animals really well, which is great for young kids especially!
    This is not a Pittsburgh Zoo in size or scope, but nicely laid out and maintained.

    One thing we wish they would add is a family plan with grandparents included. The way plans are offered now, you must purchase a family pass and then also have to purchase a grandparents pass.
    Hint, hint...

    It looks like they are gearing up for expansion!

  • May 23, 2021 by Shannon Sharpe

    This is a beautiful, clean, perfectly sized zoo. It took us about an hour and a half to get through the whole thing. The animals were active while we were there, and we were able to see almost every one of them. Will definitely come back!

  • Apr 20, 2021 by David Pyle

    Good little zoo! Price is right for its size. Wish the gift shop was a little larger. Animal exhibits are great! Most animals were active when we were there. I would plan about an hour and a half depending on your speed. My Wife and I are avid zoo enthusiasts. We visited this zoo on a trip including 4 other Zoos. This one was by far the smallest.

  • Apr 18, 2021 by Dorothy Steffensen

    It is a small zoo, but these people are trying and they are trying to grow. The best part were two gentlemen (docents) stationed at separate exhibits that spoke in depth about the animal on display. It really made the experience special. For me it really set the zoo apart and above the larger zoos I have visited. I left feeling that I had thoroughly enjoyed myself. Thank you Greenville zoo for doing such a great job.

  • Apr 13, 2021 by Barrie Marsh

    Great zoo! Very kid friendly. It is very small, and only takes about an hour to get through the whole thing. So would be great for small kids to walk.

  • Apr 08, 2021 by leesgrl72

    Nice zoo and perfect if your kids get tired easily. Only a mile to walk through everything. Make sure you buy tickets online in advance and give yourself extra time for parking. The parking lot was packed and it took us about 20 minutes of driving around until we found an open space. They also have a concession stand with reasonably priced hot dogs, snacks, ice cream and drinks if you get hungry half way through.

  • Apr 08, 2021 by leesgrl72

    Nice zoo and perfect if your kids get tired easily. Only a mile to walk through everything and that was good for me. Make sure you buy tickets online in advance and give yourself extra time for parking. The parking lot was packed and it took us about 20 minutes of driving around until we found an open space. They also have a concession stand with hot dogs, snacks, ice cream and drinks if you get hungry half way through.

  • Apr 04, 2021 by Buster Kayne

    Great little family attraction for any age!! My daughter ❤ had an amazing day and really enjoyed

  • Mar 23, 2021 by Chris Nycum

    This is a nice small zoo that you can roll through in less than an hour if you want. It is also adjacent to a large park that has a playground and such. Better to get the family membership if you plan on visiting more than twice with a family of four.

  • Mar 12, 2021 by Nate Humphrey

    Rating based on quality, not quantity. Not a big zoo at all. What they do have is pretty well done though. Be nice if they had a bigger food option.

  • Mar 07, 2021 by Tiffany Cruz

    Great zoo at a great price. We went here because the Columbia good charged $20 for each two year old in our party and the Greenville Zoo allowed them free. It was an extra 30 min to drive but totally worth it! The kids (2.5 year old twins and 1.5 year old) enjoyed themselves- especially the ducks and the huge playground outside and the smaller one inside. Totally worth the 1.5 hr drive.

  • Feb 22, 2021 by Robert Drake

    What a fun little zoo! The giant ant eater was a highlight. They are rebuilding a number of the habitats. The animals appear lively and well taken care of.

    The zoo is wheelchair accessible.

    They're not enforcing Covid restrictions to the degree one might like, so be careful.

  • Dec 26, 2020 by ROY FORE

    Me and my granddaughter went and paid $16 to see a few animals but not many they have pink flamingos I thought were fake at first till they started moving what a blast. Lot of the animals weren't present I guess because it was so cold but they could have had a lot of common animals around here a cow a horse a pony pigs and etc etc but they know best what they're doing with the money they have to operate on it was very clean the snakes were a good exhibit and the lizards turtles and frogs. I guess when you pay you expect to be better entertained I'm not complaining I was just a little disappointed for my granddaughter 6 years old and so excited but we had fun

  • Dec 11, 2020 by Aaron Winner

    Small zoo that is doable in a couple of hours. Reasonably priced and even more so if you buy one of their season passes that will get everyone in on a single day for about the same price as buying tickets individually. Nice variety of exhibits and education throughout the park. Don't every see my family not having a pass to this zoo. Small, well taken care of, and so close to many other places to eat play and explore.

  • Nov 13, 2020 by Jacob Ferguson

    So today I went to the zoo here in Greenville.
    I have always loved this zoo and today was no exception.
    Disclaimer: the Lions are off exhibit though I will not tell you why, and they are building new enclosures for the lemurs so you won't get to see them.
    One of the saddest things is the lone red panda (the other either wasn't out or has passed on) give them some love. I also loved the monument to Joy the elephant one of the greatest things about the zoo...
    Also I am sorry to the little girl who got a first hand experience on how Vulture babies are made

  • Nov 04, 2020 by John Callahan

    This is a nice zoo. They have an interesting program where people can pay a quarter to put a token into one of four or five boxes labeled with an endangered animal (I can't remember how many boxes,) and I believe how it works is that for every token in each box, they donate a quarter to help support the protection of said endangered animals, (check my facts if I am wrong.) They take a good amount of care of the animals, and the place has many kid-friendly activities, including three different playgrounds (two of which are covered) for your children, also having multiple time dependent activities like classes on zoology and biology. The reptile/invertebrate house is amazing. Overall, 10/10

  • Oct 26, 2020 by Beth Breininger

    We attended Bo at the Zoo. It was very clean and organized. They only took reservations for the times available. Number of guests were limited and face masks required. Local businesses were giving out candy at many locations, while you walked the trail. It was a good experience. One suggestion, have more costumed people on the trail.

  • Oct 24, 2020 by Sebastian

    Although small, but a quaint zoo in the middle of Greenville. Despite running into a problem involving purchasing tickets for the wrong day/week, which was only because of website issues, they went the extra mile to allow us to take vacant membership reservations for that day, and only 15 min after the time we initially wanted. Unfortunately I do not recall the 2 individuals that helped me and my girlfriend, but I thank them greatly nonetheless. All the animal exhibits are adorable and interesting, and the price for tickets, even for adults, are very affordable and worth the value. I highly recommend this zoo for the amazing service and the attractive, yet small facility.

  • Oct 23, 2020 by Jackie Bagley

    We went for the first time during Boo in the Zoo. The staff was incredibly kind and efficient. They have everything soreaf out nicely. However, I do feel there should have been more trick-or- treat tables for the kiddos. The zoo itself is very small, but there are some great animals here. There is a lot of construction going on right now though. However, considering the times of Covid-19, I would still stay this is a great option to maintain social distancing. Kids can stay involved with learning while seeing animals. It is a good option to get out of the house. Masks are required for kids over 2.

  • Oct 20, 2020 by Sonja Stefan

    It's a small zoo but definitely worth the visit. Lovely park grounds surrounding and a great covered picnic area. Our highlight was the giraffe family (dad, mom, son) but dad was the "ham" of the group totally into the people visiting them! All the exhibits were in top shape, the animals were extremely healthy looking and the staff did a wonderful job gearing up the zoo with Halloween decor for the kids. We will visit again in the future!

  • Oct 15, 2020 by Kimberly Porter

    Beautiful zoo. You have to order your tickets online. They are limiting the amount of people and anyone over 2 has to wear a face mask. It was nice not being crowded. The zoo was decorated for Boo in the Zoo. Also, its cheaper to get a year family membership for $70.00 if you plan on going often.

  • Oct 05, 2020 by donnie c

    small, but very pretty and well maintained zoo. lots of current construction happening in adding exhibits. design of some exhibits seems to allow much better, and closer, viewing of some animals, such as the giraffes and lions, than some other zoos.

  • Oct 03, 2020 by Andres Quiros

    It was amazing, great experience for young children and families, very affordable. Unfortunately they had few exhibits closed but maybe it has to do a lot with the lack of visitors since the pandemic. Help your local zoo, they need our support.

  • Sep 28, 2020 by Andrew Patteson

    Terrific value! A small zoo, but an awesome family outing. Can be seen entirely in under 3 hours

  • Sep 20, 2020 by Sharmaine Arroyo

    Smaller than expected but we enjoyed ourselves

  • Sep 14, 2020 by Eva T

    Little zoo, a good way to spend one to two hours. Will be better when the orangutans and the monkeys can be seen in their new place.

  • Sep 12, 2020 by Grant Hollis

    Doing a fantastic job with changes to accommodate the pandemic. One way traffic and spreading out arrival times.

  • Sep 07, 2020 by Jeff Thoreson

    great as usual. but I feel they need to be open as much as possible to put the money back into exhibits and zoo

  • Sep 07, 2020 by Kesha Speight

    The zoo itself is only 1 mile. Alot of the animal exhibits were not open However it is a great place to spend with your family. As far as social distancing we did not have any issues. I think due to the zoo having guest to book reservations when purchasing tickets. This would be a great mini field trip for virtual elementary kids!!

  • Sep 06, 2020 by Robert Brewington

    ***You must order tickets online, do not think you can get in by showing up to buy tickets, order a day in advance***. The entire zoo takes about 40 minutes to walk through and viewing is even more limited because of construction. The available exhibits are pretty good but not huge like the asheboro zoo. The price is about half of what you would pay at the larger zoo for about 1/3 of the exhibits. Definitely patronize and donate to support conservation but in terms of entertainment asheboro is a better value.

  • Sep 06, 2020 by Jeff Farley

    Really great zoo for the price. Set up well for social distancing.

  • Sep 01, 2020 by Jodi Asbury

    Tried to visit the Zoo on Sunday at 4 pm, which was the only time I could make it, due to work schedule. My friend & his 8 year old son was visiting from West Virginia & have never been to a zoo. I have visited the Greenville Zoo 6 times in the past 4 years & have always purchased my ticket at the main gate. We drove from Fountain Inn to Greenville & upon arrival at the
    main gate the young lady informed us that tickets had to be reserved online & the latest time to reserve a ticket was 3:30! I ask her if there was anyway we could purchase tickets since we were already there & was told no, needless to say it was devastating news for the 8 year old who had been excited all week & especially expecting to have his dream fulfilled that afternoon, instead we were turned away & broken hearted.

  • Aug 28, 2020 by Bree Mayfield

    Way too small. Was surprised at the size of the zoo. It's more like a discovery center.

  • Aug 23, 2020 by keith tyger

    A very nice small zoo that will occupy a few hours of your day. it will be exciting to see what it looks like when the renovations are complete.

  • Aug 22, 2020 by Courtney W.

    Came to Greenville Zoo from Columbia (we usually go to riverbanks zoo but wanted to venture out) the prices for the tickets were great, but the zoo itself is not very big at all, took us maybe an hour to get through the whole thing. We didn’t get to see the orangutan, or the alligator but we did see the baby leopards and baby giraffe. There was so much construction going on that it was pretty distracting and it seemed like a lot of enclosures were closed all together. They also didn’t have any sort of aquarium and a lot of the enclosures looked like they needed some major TLC!! I am glad we went and had some family time but will probably not be returning.

  • Aug 20, 2020 by Captain AmeriDad

    They have a great park near the zoo & their events are awesome. It’s not the largest zoo & their animals are limited. I bought their membership and it’s well worth it. My family loves it. I love the red panda. So cute.

  • Aug 08, 2020 by Nicole Gusmus

    Felt very comfortable with the extra steps taken to combat Covid19. Glad we purchases the season pass!

  • Aug 01, 2020 by Demetrius Henderson

    I mean, they did what they could because of covid but my 7 year old daughter enjoyed every second of it. So that was nice.. We couldn't see the reptiles' building because again SD (social distancing) but it was a good outing. Also a good bit of the animals were away off site for some reason

  • Jul 20, 2020 by Brooke G

    Great precautions made throughout the park for COVID. The zoo really thought about their visitors and staff. I was really pleased with our trip and was surprised on how easy it was to socially distance and enjoy the zoo. Hands down great job

  • Jul 12, 2020 by Jason Huber

    Overall, the zoo was enjoyable. I was a little perturbed with everything that was closed, although I understand why. More concerning was that things seemed to be a mess. There was garbage on the ground and numerous areas that looked like they just needed some attention.

    The staff was very nice, which was good. There was very little in the way of education due to the pandemic. I hope to enjoy it more when we return after things are back to "normal"

  • Jul 08, 2020 by Joshua Gerhard

    Not a big zoo, easily walkable. This is the third zoo we've been to with our kids, but this is the first one she's been able to walk the entire way through. Animals are limited, no elephants or polar bears or large sea animals. Good way to spend an hour or two.

  • Jul 06, 2020 by wolfie lastar

    I loved this place the only downside is it took my wife and i leisurely (we went when the animals were inactive so im sure our time would've doubled if they were active) we were there for about an hour. The upside is its cheap so cost wise its 100 percent worth it. Also the monkey pens were being changed and seemed like they were adding and the orangutans were somewhere else since they were fixing up their enclosure. The huge upside is cost and location its right near downtown greenville.

  • Jul 03, 2020 by Tulsi Vania

    We came from Florida to visit the Greenville Zoo for the first time since the last time we came back in 2013. A lot has changed, many of the exhibits were closed off. I’m not sure weather they were closed for good or maybe construction or just off limits due to the pandemic.I do think that the zoo should update their website and be upfront about which exhibits are available to the public for visitation. Google says that it’s about an hour and a half walk around the park, but because of the limited exhibits the walk around the zoo was maybe about 30 minutes for my family along with stopping and taking pictures along the way. They had a mini children’s play park, along with a picnic area for family’s to take a break to eat or just relax. The ticket prices are also pretty reasonable, but you must purchase tickets online. At the entrance of the park after the ticket booth, social distancing markers were provided on the pathways to remind the public which I thought was very good. Overall it was a pretty fun experience and they did well even with the pandemic going on. Still enjoyed! Would definitely visit again once all of the exhibits are open and even more animals are available for visitors!

  • Jun 27, 2020 by Joseph Zych

    My wife and I came from Concord nc. Just for a weekend get away. Greenville zoo you made our day . Even even with the restrictions of the covid-19 y'all made it worth a while

  • Jun 20, 2020 by Ismail Kabakus

    Lots of animals seem very well treated. Some animals were not currently there due to the construction. Staff was also really nice and the grounds/restroom were clean. There are very nice places under shade, there you can rest. Very nice preK playground.
    It was not very big, which I think is the best. Ticket prices are very very reasonable. Highly suggested.

  • Jun 13, 2020 by Amanda Towndrow

    Super cute and the staff and keepers are just so amazing and sweet. We enjoyed our little visit... just what we needed.

  • Jun 12, 2020 by Rebecca Roach

    Wonderful visit today! Greg Garcia- lead Asia Keeper, was great! Answered lots of questions about animals and was a wealth of knowledge! Greenville Zoo is fortunate to have him! Thanks for a terrific day!

  • Jun 10, 2020 by Brantley

    Super cute zoo. Lots of variety and an easy walk. Great day activity for the family!

  • Jun 09, 2020 by Kirk Lung

    Glad back open after covid.. no aza reciprocal yet. Still worth it. Hood combo swamp rabbit and zoo..

  • Jun 09, 2020 by Savannah Taylor

    As always the Greenville Zoo is an amazing, convenient, and fun local attraction. Given that today (6/8/2020) was the first day the zoo was back open to the general public, I greatly admired their efforts to ensure a safe environment for guests, staff, and the animals! Social Distancing markers were attention grabbing, properly placed, and fit in nicely. All staff wore masks, some exhibits were closed for safety reasons, and social distancing was enforced (by a friendly docent) in areas like the Orangutan Habitat. I look forward to coming back soon! And to seeing how the Primate Row renovations turn out! Thank you for a great time, and kudos to the Greenville Zoo for doing such a great job during such a difficult time! :)

  • May 25, 2020 by Odd kids OUT

    I am sad that I won’t be able to participate in zoo camp this year this will be my only missed year and this was my last year to be a camper but I will be happy to come back as a volunteer also look out for a lot of donations I’m going to make a difference to our small town and help the zoo with my friends, Emily (a former worker), 7 new, and YouTube. My friends and I are creating fun animal mask, Emily will help me with stuff I don’t have covered I guess, I know Dianee Lee from the news and christy (Dianee goes to my church I met my idol Christy at boo and the zoo), I’m going to post yt vids of how to help and imma start a fundraiser

    -This is the kid that has loved the Zoo and it is her life (Anna Grace Moorhouse)

  • Mar 12, 2020 by Kim Peterson

    Super cute zoo. Nice for family members with disabilities too. Easy walk. Went in early afternoon and all animals were up and about. Just a nice fun family day.

  • Mar 10, 2020 by Shay Rogers

    Best time to go on a date is during the week, before school lets out. Lots of animals and they all seem very well treated and happy. The construction was a little annoying, but it's nice to know the zoo is growing. Alligators aren't currently there due to the construction, but I'm happy to know they're looking after their well-being. Staff was also really nice and the grounds were clean and we'll kept!

  • Mar 08, 2020 by Michael Casuccio

    Had a great time with our granddaughter here today. Not a big zoo but they had giraffes. How awesome is that!? Lots of places to picnic. Nice playgrounds.

  • Jan 03, 2020 by John Palmer

    Our first visit to the Gville Zoo, and we had fun with our grandson showing us all the animals. He is 5 years old, has been going there for years and always is excited to visit again. It is a worthwhile and interesting time. The playground area outside also provides another activity for the young ones to enjoy and spend some energy. Very well thought out.

  • Dec 31, 2019 by Marissa Miller

    Excellent place to go with small children. The walk isn't to long and the exhibits are educational. Not to mention a few kid friendly rest stops. My kids love it, and we always have fun.

  • Dec 17, 2019 by Michael Crosen

    Exceptional value! There is a big playground for your little one, right outside the entrance and there is actually small playground inside the zoo. It is big enough to get your fill of animals but small enough that you can make your way through it in little over an hour. We love this place!

  • Dec 01, 2019 by Matt A

    Great zoo, well designed, and you really get to get close to the monkeys, Jaguars, Giraffes, Rheas, and a lot of reptiles!

    Only complaint is how small it is - you can see the whole thing in an hour even going slow.

    An added bonus is Cleveland Park, free and just outside the zoo gate. All combined it makes for a great morning with the family.

  • Mar 22, 2010 by jgs864

    Great for the kids and a wonderful way to learn about animals

  • Nov 12, 2007 by gbradley53

    Wonderful zoo locate in the cleveland park area. Moderately priced and the kids will love the park next to it also.