Coastal Discovery Museum

Coastal Discovery Museum

70 Honey Horn Drive
Hilton Head Island SC 29926
843-689-6767

Visit Us

Leave Your Review Here

Find Us

Online Profiles
  • Foursquare
  • Google Places
  • Yellow Pages
Reviews
  • Jun 04, 2021 by J

    Very beautiful and well kept grounds. I really liked the butterfly tent and the board walks out into the marsh areas were great. They also have a carnivorous plants garden!

  • May 28, 2021 by Katy Light

    Super clean, amazingly friendly and informative. Such a laid back beautiful place to learn &/or enjoy the coast & its history. This is a hidden gem. My 12 & 8 year old enjoyed it.

  • May 02, 2021 by Nicole Bohannon

    Beautiful place to walk around and take in nature. Even better that it's free! The walkpath was mostly shaded which is really nice if you're visiting on a hotter day. Receptionists when you visit the main house are very friendly.

  • Apr 29, 2021 by Teri Homan

    I love this place. They have a beautiful museum and unfortunately with the virus it was closed. You are still able to tour the grounds but the buildings are all closed. I still enjoyed my self. It was a lovely day for a mature type walk.

  • Apr 24, 2021 by Claire Doak

    Very educational and clean! They are adhering to many guidelines regarding COVID, which makes you feel very safe while being there. The self guided audio tour was nice and the scavenger hunt/guide questions were fun.

  • Apr 10, 2021 by Anh Nguyen

    This is a cute little outdoor museum. Since we have little kids it is fun to let them run around. The best part is you can come anytime and it's free to get in. They do accept donations.

  • Apr 01, 2021 by Kim G

    This is a great walk in nature to see old live oaks and lots of moss. Beautiful camellia garden as well as nature center. Great family place. Free or donation.

  • Mar 29, 2021 by Anagha Dange

    Wonderful way to spend 2-3 hours. So much to learn!
    The museum is very informative on the HHI area, it's original inhabitants, their way of life, the development over time, etc. Cathy at the desk was super helpful and friendly.
    The live oaks were the best part of the trip!

  • Mar 28, 2021 by Axel Granholm

    Staff is very friendly and helpful. Grounds are immaculate. They do need at least one public trash can.

  • Mar 15, 2021 by Matt Allen

    Fun place for adults, kids and seniors. Teens will probably get bored unless they are hard core nature lovers. More to see late.spring through fall but still interesting in March. Mostly outdoor exhibits, fair amount of walking. Free parking and free admission.

  • Mar 09, 2021 by Brittney Bowen

    WOW! There was so much too learn outside! My kids loved learning about the salt marsh, using the long distance view finders, looking at the carnivorous plants and more! We spent several hours here outside exploring. We also enjoyed the terrapin in the aquarium. Would love to go back and hear a live lecture.

  • Feb 18, 2021 by Rich Herb

    A good place to learn about both the history of Hilton Head and about the birds, animals and dealing. Also has a nice walking tour on the grounds

  • Jan 10, 2021 by Jan Bloom

    We stopped at the Coastal Discovery Museum during our recent visit to Hilton Head. We enjoy learning about the history and culture in the area. Loved the gift shop. It was very quiet and peaceful on the day we visited. Our teens enjoyed it...and it got them away from their technology for a bit. I loved the sea horse sculpture. Definitely worth a visit...even with teens!

  • Dec 04, 2020 by Beth Darlington

    Always a fun place to wander around. Tuesday's are Farmers Market day. And that is in itself fun. The local farmers have their produce, honey, home made cheeses n breads, farm raised meats, etc.

  • Nov 28, 2020 by Mochap 70

    Great place to ride your bikes through and learn about the place. It was very interesting and quite appealing. We are here for the Thanksgiving Holiday Weekend!

  • Nov 10, 2020 by Andrew Gall

    Beautiful grounds with a few different exhibits and trails scattered throughout. Although rain cut our visit short, we still enjoyed a few of the boardwalks and the butterfly enclosure. Worth a visit if you're in the area, especially since there's no cost to do so.

  • Oct 06, 2020 by Joseph C Deiter

    We have come to Hilton Head for years and never noticed this. Stopped and spent several hours. Could have stayed longer. Excellent history on the island and wild life. Attendants knowledgeable. Will definitely stop again.

  • Sep 16, 2020 by Kris B

    A fun and educational experience for the whole family! Ms. Carol even took 10 mins of her personal time to answer questions and share information about Myrtle the Turtle, the horseshoe crabs and cannonball jellyfish. The fiddler crabs were active, mud snails and oysters visible, and live oaks beautiful! We will have to return next visit to see the horses.

  • Sep 15, 2020 by Carnie Colliver

    Very fun place with great history! Anyone who visits hilton head should visit

  • Sep 08, 2020 by John Bomba

    Lots of information about Hilton Head Island. Very interesting tours and programs for all ages.

  • Sep 08, 2020 by Jasmine Paullin

    This was the best part of our trip to Hilton Head island. We did the blue crab discovery tour with two adults and 3 kids from ages 4-10. They had so much fun learning about the salt marsh ecosystem. It was a hands on experience that kept the kids attention the entire tour. If we ever return to the area we will be visiting the Museum.

  • Sep 08, 2020 by Anne Robinson

    It's a very pleasant place to go for a stroll. My 11month son enjoyed the kids play room. He was a able to touch and feel different textures, look at the displays.

  • Sep 07, 2020 by Andrew Zapata

    If your looking for something to do and near the area why not go stop and check it out there is a nice old lady there very sweet..lol.. not like the rest of you old Hags.Please donate.

  • Sep 06, 2020 by Mike Rowberry

    Great place to learn about South Carolina history and agriculture. Really loves the butterfly house and carnivorous plant areas.

  • Sep 05, 2020 by Theresa Lyons

    If I could give more stars I would. We visited during COVID-19. All staff is wearing masks. We spent 80% of the time enjoying the gardens, walking paths, spaceship, butterfly enclosure, etc. We booked a private (VERY REASONABLE) reptiles and amphibians experience which was SOOO well done, informative and great for both kids and adults. Will definitely visit again if we are in the area. Pristine bathrooms, a place to relax and enjoy!

  • Sep 02, 2020 by Tarak Vasavada

    Good history of the island. They have done a good job preserving the land and building. Not sure why they do not charge anything. May be that one dollar you pay for toll again and again pays for it. Very helpful staff.

  • Aug 29, 2020 by Daniel Herbert

    Been here several times. It is wonderful that this place is preserved in the middle of Hilton Head Island a very popular tourist destination.

  • Aug 19, 2020 by Allison Burnett

    This is one of hilton head's best kept secrets. Beautiful views and gardens with many sculptures. Bring a hammock and/ or picnic. Interesting museum with the right mix of art and information. On Tuesdays enjoy the farmer's market. Thia destination is all around awesome for kids!!! Fun is free or make a donation.

  • Jul 19, 2020 by Christine Williams

    Great Lowcountry experience! Kids (3&7)LOVED it. Lots to see and absolutely BEAUTIFUL grounds (lots of very old Live Oaks).

  • Jul 08, 2020 by Leslie Mertens

    Very nice. Educational experience about the history of the property and HHI. Beautiful. The butterflies were very active after the brief rain.

  • Jul 06, 2020 by the one and only Brayden Siebsen

    Had alot of fun here. Took a few educational classes. Walked around the property and out on the docks. Also took a segways tour. Highly recommend it for a family outing.

  • Jun 23, 2020 by Lou Sist

    This holds a special place in our hearts. We have been taking our daughter here on her birthday since she was 3, just turned 16. The butterfly exhibit is absolutely amazing!

  • Jun 17, 2020 by Jenny Hansen Lane

    Educational

    Clean

    Safe

    Family oriented

    Affordable snacks

    Free maps

    Beautiful views

  • May 30, 2020 by Teri Homan

    I love this place. They have a beautiful museum and unfortunately with the virus it was closed. You are still able to tour the grounds but the buildings are all closed. I still enjoyedmyseld. It was a lovely day for a mature type walj.

  • Mar 07, 2020 by Teerajieramm Jett

    A great museum for young children as well as adults. It’s rare to find hands-on activities for children, botanical gardens and gallery spaces for the traditional museum goer all in one location. The scenic open spaces are ideal for the special events and festivals which take place here. If you have the time, don’t miss the opportunity to visit the Coastal Discovery Museum!

  • Mar 07, 2020 by Teerajieramm Jett

    A great museum for young children as well as adults. It’s rare to find hands-on activities for children, botanical gardens and gallery spaces for the traditional museum goer all in one location. The scenic open spaces are ideal for the special events and festivals which take place here. If you have the time, don’t miss the opportunity to visit the Coastal Discovery Museum!

  • Mar 01, 2020 by Tony Topoleski

    Wasn't at the museum. I was on the Honey Horn site to attend a gathering for the Heritage Golf Tournament.

    This is a very good location for such gatherings. The museum is very interesting. I have visited it numerous times.

    Come check out the Honey Horn site.

  • Feb 20, 2020 by Otis Laird

    Much bigger way more impressive inside than it appears... great place to casually browse. They have some interesting information about the history of Hilton Head Island.

  • Feb 01, 2020 by Gene Schaeffer

    Great place to visit. Vert informative about a lot of different subjects having to do with the area. Has souvenir type items to buy with tie ins to area. I believe various boat rides, etc., can be arranged from here. Very good, small farmers market there on Tues mornings with great and unusual cheeses, micro greens, free range chickens from local farm and farmer and more. Very worthwhile to visit this museum. I believe they have talks on certain days or nights too, regarding Hilton Head history and the local coastal region.

  • Jan 15, 2020 by Denise Hamel

    Great place! Free parking, and lots of historic knowledge to be gained. The gift shop is nice, and they have Gullah individuals making baskets. The baskets are for sale but pricey...like over $100 pricey. You can get historic yours here or just roam the grounds.

  • Nov 06, 2019 by Arielle Wilson

    Really beautiful property with a lot to see. The history of Hilton Head is narrated throughout with stories about the founding families as the cornerstone. A charming butterfly conservatory that still had butterflies left at the end of the season was free to visit as well as the relaxing boat dock area with shelter and viewfinders to see birds and other wildlife. Our only disappointment was that a great deal of the property was blocked off for a private event, but that is bound to happen with such a lovely location.

  • Feb 28, 2016 by Mark E.

    Everyone who visits HHI owes it to themselves to better understand the history of the Island is this is a great place to do it. Despite the oppressive heat and humidity, we really enjoyed the exhibitions and grounds of the museum.